< All news

SeaLink Travel Group Resignation of Chair

Tuesday 25 February 2020

The Board of SeaLink Travel Group Limited (ASX:SLK) (“SeaLink”) advises that Andrew McEvoy has resigned as a non-executive director and Chair of the Board of SeaLink to take up an international executive role overseas. Mr McEvoy will remain as Chair and member of the SeaLink Board until 30 June 2020 to allow for an orderly search for a replacement and a smooth transition.

Mr McEvoy has served as a dedicated member and Chair of the Board since 2015, as well as serving as a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. The Board thanks Mr McEvoy for his outstanding contribution and commitment to SeaLink during what has been a significant period of expansion for the company.

During Mr McEvoy’s time as Chair, SeaLink has delivered strong returns to shareholders, through organic growth and significant acquisitions including Transit Systems Marine, Captain Cook Perth and the establishment of the Rottnest Island service; the Kingfisher Group (Fraser Island), and the winning of the Bruny Island contract. Most recently, the completion of the $635m acquisition of the Transit Systems Group has created Australia’s leading multi-modal transport provider with operations in Australia, Singapore and London, significantly increasing SeaLink’s exposure to public infrastructure transport contracts.

SeaLink Deputy Chair Jeff Ellison said: “Andrew’s extensive experience in the tourism sector together with his guidance and leadership have been invaluable during a period of significant expansion for SeaLink and ensures SeaLink is well positioned for its next phase.”

The SeaLink Travel Group Board is commencing a formal search for a new Chair who can continue the SeaLink growth story. SeaLink will announce the new appointment in due course.

SeaLink Travel Group Board 

Further information

For further information, please contact:

Clint Feuerherdt
Group Chief Executive Officer
+61 8 8202 8659

Andrew Muir
Chief Financial Officer
+61 8 8202 8693

SeaLink Travel Group is Australia’s largest integrated land and marine, tourism and public transport service provider with established international operations.

Carrying more than 350 million passengers a year in different locations around the world, the Group has over 8,700 employees and operates approximately 3,400 buses and 79 ferries with operations in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, the Northern Territory, Western Australia, London and Singapore.

SeaLink was founded in 1989 in Adelaide providing transport and ferry services between the mainland and Kangaroo Island. Today, SeaLink has expanded its travel and tourism operations across Australia connecting domestic and international travellers with some of Australia’s most iconic destinations and experiences. These include:

  • ferry services to Kangaroo Island, Magnetic Island, Palm Island, North Stradbroke and Southern Moreton Bay Islands, Rottnest Island, Bruny Island, Tiwi Islands, Groote Eylandt and Curtis Island under the SeaLink brand
  • cruises, ferry and charter operations on Sydney Harbour, the Swan River and the Murray River under the Captain Cook Cruises brand
  • resort accommodation, restaurants, touring and ferry services on Fraser Island, Queensland under the Kingfisher Bay Resort brand
  • single and multi-day tour experiences and accommodation services. In 2020, SeaLink Travel Group acquired the Transit Systems Group, which operates government-owned metropolitan bus services in Perth (Swan Transit), Adelaide (Torrens Transit), Sydney (Transit Systems NSW), Victoria (Sita Group) and Darwin (Territory Transit). Internationally, the Transit System Group also operates significant urban bus services in London (Tower Transit), and in Singapore (Tower Transit Singapore).