< All news

Entrepreneurial Theory Put To The Test For Worldwide Awards

Tuesday 27 May 2014

Publication: The Advertiser
Journalist: Valerina Changarathil

THEY are flipping burgers, supporting needy women, finding their place in the sun, taking shareholders on a ferry ride and doing much more.

More importantly, SA’s top entrepreneurs are creating jobs, driving innovation and productivity, boosting the economy and inspiring others.

Thirteen SA and NT entrepreneurs will join 84 national participants to vie for the annual Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

Food truck Burger Theory co-founder Daniel Mendelson, Catherine House chief executive Madge McGuire, Suntrix co-founder Jenny Paradiso and SeaLink Travel Group managing director Jeffrey Ellison are among them. This year’s nominees come from a diverse range of fields, including childcare, fast food, travel, engineering and IT, said EY’s Adelaide managing partner Chris Sharpley.

“The kind of innovative thinking we are witnessing among this group of entrepreneurs is so important,” he said. “Entrepreneurs make a significant contribution to our business communities.” Beyond Australia, the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year awards have finalists from more than 60 countries.

Each country’s program sends its overall winner to the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards in Monte Carlo.

The SA and NT nominees will first compete for regional honours at an award ceremony in Adelaide on 24 July.

Winners progress to the national stage in November in Melbourne and one winner will travel to Monte Carlo next year to represent Australia at the 2015 World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards.

Previous Australian winners include Andrew Bassat of SEEK (2013) and Anthony Podesta of McMillan Shakespeare (2012).The other SA and NT nominees are Allan Aitchison (MIMP Connecting Solutions); Paul Crawford (CMV Group); Mark Dayman (Fyfe); John George (MGA and Whittles); Shane Kelly (Kelly Engineering; Sean LePoidevin (Off-Grid Energy Australia); Greg Patten (Mogas Group); Ali Serhan (Emali ELC); and NT-based Henry Yap (Yap Group of Companies).


#Achievement #Announcement #From the Media